Algorithms & Polishing

It’s late and today was a lot, so I’ve got to keep this short. We went pretty heavy into algorithms today and what’s known as The Big O (a way to describe the complexity of an algorithm). We had several algo’s to build out including a (extremely inefficient) bubble sort function. If you get a chance and don’t already know you should look it up. Basically you would never want to use it for anything, but wrapping your mind around it and getting it to work is a big step to grasping these things. Here it is:

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 10.18.32 PM.png
bubble sort!

I had a couple mental hold-ups today, but the more I practiced making algo’s the easier it became, so that’s a good sign! I felt a little behind today, but I’m remaining confident that it will all fall in place for me. I also have some great buddies that help me when I’m not fully grasping something right off the cuff.

I spent the latter half of my day working on making the word-game project from the other day into an actual hang man game! I’m excited to use it in my portfolio as something I built just 3 weeks into the cohort! I have been working on it all night and now it’s late so I must go to sleep, but here’s what it looks like so far! A couple of key things I still need to do such as getting the backgrounds to cycle in as incorrect guesses are made, but I’ll write a whole post about it once it’s done!

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 10.13.42 PM.png
I’m proud of my baby! p.s. I drew out the hangman figure and I suck at drawing!

I’ve got my eye to the future and my head held high! Ready for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

