API’s

Another moderately late post means I’ve been knee deep in projects! Spent the last couple hours on hangman and boy, I’m very excited about it. It is so close! I want to polish and then clean it up before I share it with you guys, but it’s coming I promise!

Today our class assignments were to write a couple of Promises and use callback functions. Since we aren’t equipped to totally handle promises in the traditional sense, we used them with setTimeouts. I didn’t think I was grasping it very well but when I was writing my function and calling my callbacks I realized that I do comprehend what’s going on, at least a lot more than I thought! I can feel my brain slowly conquering concepts that have been somewhat challenging for me over the last week and I’ve got to say I like it a lot.

Our afternoon project was to pull data from an API for the first time and create a website with that data! When we first received the project I felt overwhelmed by the amount of work it would require. Literally 1.5 hours later and I was done! I shocked even myself with how fast I was able to pull and dissect and the assign the data to the DOM. The HTML file is bare bones and the CSS is limited to about 1.5 pages, the last .5 being just responsive design. Here’s a glance at that:

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.49.16 PM
the IIFE that pulls data from the API
Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.49.28 PM
Step by Step Adding In Elements and assigning values/variables

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.49.43 PM.png
Finished product!

 

Bruin and I (the leads) and a couple other students (the support) were able to meet up today to briefly review the crash course material for next Wednesday! It’s going to be a very small Mario game with minimum functionality! I’m feeling both excited, because it’s going to be an excellent experience and I will learn a lot, and nervous, because the game has movements of a character based on x and y axis and I do not have the slightest idea where to start with that. Luckily one of our instructors is going to walk us through the existing code and show us what is happening. It will be a great base of knowledge in case I decide to build something similar at any point in the future! Here’s a look at that code:

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.57.02 PM.png
Very small snippet from a large file

As the days go by, I feel my excitement buzzing and growing. I do still feel the nervousness of the job hunt in my future, but I’m constantly reminding myself to stay present and focus on this experience, on step at a time. Ultimately I couldn’t be more grateful to be where I am and grateful that I am not only working extremely hard, but grasping 97% of what is thrown at me. I am feeling a lot of pride these days and I’m pretty pumped about it.

Onward!

One thought on “API’s

Leave a Reply

